Nature, Objects

February Forest Walk – The Hunting Pavilion

I used to walk past this pavilion with my grandmother when I was a child. Amid the forest is a huge playground and we used to take afternoon walks there. The pavilion was always the most fascinating thing, mainly because it was locked and no one I know has ever had a look inside. Right next to it is a forester’s house, so my guess is there’s either nothing inside, or tools… But still, to this day I would love to take a peek inside.

All I know of its history is that in 1765 the then duke built a pheasant house in the nearby fields, then the hunting pavilion was built in 1818, and a golden pheasant can be seen on top of the pavilion.

What I’ve never consciously noticed before is the artwork looking up at the roof. You can see painted acorn leaves with actual wooden acorns in the middle.

Standard

2 thoughts on “February Forest Walk – The Hunting Pavilion

Feel free to leave a comment!

