Nature

Lunch With A Grey Heron

Taking a walk through one of our largest parks last Sunday, my friend said: “There’s a grey heron – quick, take a picture!”. I hadn’t noticed the bird, and if I had… I wouldn’t have known what it was.

With a 105mm lens, I was too far away, though, and as I got closer the heron realised I was after it and took off.

A few hundred metres further on, we saw another one. I tried to sneak up on it, and to my surprise it didn’t even seem to notice me. Wondering why it wasn’t taking off I got so close that with one more step I would have joined the heron in its little creek.

Crouching down next to it, I saw it moving one foot veeeeeery sloooooowly. Then the other one. And with one swoop it suddenly had its head under water. Aha. So it was more interested in being a predator and catching its lunch than being hunted by a predator, aka me.

If you look closely (or click on the picture, then click again to enlarge further), you can see the heron’s lunch between its beak.

Grey Heron

Standard

5 thoughts on “Lunch With A Grey Heron

Feel free to leave a comment!

