Food, Life

Elderflower Syrup

Elderflower Syrup 01Last week my friend and I finally managed to go on the hunt for elderflowers. We were quite late but lucky enough to find a place where we could gather enough to make syrup. The bag we collected them in was kind of alive – I had to de-insectify it before taking it with me in the car.
Elderflower Syrup 02At home I mixed together all ingredients and let them steep for 4 days. On Saturday I could finally bottle the syrup. We managed to get enough elderflowers to make 5.5 liters of syrup.

Elderflower Syrup 03It turned out fantastic, I tried some immediately, mixing it up with sparkling water. The next day I chucked a mini bottle of sparkling wine into the freezer, then mixed myself a Hugo – elderflower syrup topped with sparkling wine or prosecco, some sparkling water, and fresh torn mint leaves.

Elderflower Syrup 04The recipe said the syrup would keep for at least six months. I don’t think so… 😀

Standard

Feel free to leave a comment!

