Life

America In 50 Pictures Pt. I

Hello everyone, I’m back from my vacation, and it was one of the best I’ve ever had. I traveled with a friend who lives in Dubai, we met at Heathrow Airport and from there took a flight to Boston together.

We stayed with friends of my friend, who were very lovely and generous people, and through them I met more people who were all incredibly warm and welcoming – which I’d just like to mention is not a given thing if you’re German, especially traveling in Europe. It’s also amazing that every other person we met – be it in a shop, B&B, or restaurant – told us they themselves have been to Germany many times or have a family member stationed there.

I’ve always wanted to visit New England, and this trip will stay in my memory, not least of all because of the people I met there.

Just before my trip I read some tips about photo projects and project planning at Helen Ogborn Photography. I felt very inspired by Helen’s posts and was excited to make a project out of my holiday pics. As for the actual implementation, I can only say I tried, and I have so much to learn…

I had a clear vision of my project, what I would take pictures of, how I would organise my pictures into posts, and it all seemed very logical and easy. But the moment I started sorting my pictures into folders, disappointment hit.

My project was supposed to be 50 (as in 50 states) pictures of America. Things I felt were typically American to me personally. I think I did capture quite a few of those, but the majority of pictures are just of the same type that I usually take here at home – little mundane bits and pieces of everyday life. Looking at them, you wouldn’t necessarily see they were taken in or associate them with America.

So I decided to simply post my 50 favourite pictures. No one might know why I took them or what they meant to me at the time I took them, but they are pictures I feel content with.

Here’s to hoping I’ll do better with my next project…

Click any one pic below to open the gallery

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “America In 50 Pictures Pt. I

  1. I think you did a fine job of capturing a “look” of America! I had to smile at the snippets I recognize from Boston and the fast food photos! I’m so glad you had fun and focused on New England–it’s a special area!

    • Thank you very much, Kerry! Yes, I did have a lot of fun, and I guess as I love “the old country” so much I was certain I’d love New England as well. I’m currently putting together a Boston post, so you’ll get more snippets 🙂

      And you know what – this is embarrassing because I’ve been to your blog quite a bit – I had you filed away in my head as British, but after your Boston comment went back to your blog to check and… duh… American, haha. So sorry!

Feel free to leave a comment!

