Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture

 WPC - Texture

The subject of this week’s photo challenge is texture.  A picture I took last week came to mind, but once again I wasn’t sure it would fit the challenge. So I looked up the definitions of texture, and here is what the dictionary said: the characteristic physical structure given to a material, an object, etc., by the size, shape, and arrangement of its parts. In addition, the thesaurus mentions the tactile property or feel of a surface.

So I guess this fits. I like looking at these leftovers of my scabiosa flowers. The texture of the scabiosa changes throughout its journey from bud to flower: from the firm closed buds soft petals appear with what I call little feelers that are also soft. As the flower moves towards the end of its life, the petals fall off and the feelers become firm and prickly. I hadn’t expected the prickliness when I deadheaded them and was quite surprised to get stung. It was well worth it, though, to get a few pictures.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture

  1. Bravo. I am glad we both looked up the definition of texture before we submitted our photos. I too deliberated as to what would properly constitute a fitting photo for the challenge. I am glad you submitted your photo. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Thank you, Gerry. Sometimes I feel I have to verify what I think I already know just to be sure I’m not the odd one out with my interpretations of the challenges 😀

Feel free to leave a comment!

