Nature

Friday Flowers

Retro Dahlias

After I announced here last Friday that I had no plans for the weekend, my friend invited me for a BBQ on Saturday. The fantastically hot weather allowed us to spend all day and half the night outside, enjoying each other’s company, a few good drinks, and of course the delicious food.

My friend’s place was where I took the picture of these dahlias. My own dahlias – all three plants – died last week as the red spider mites apparently thought they made for good nourishment. I’m going t0 get new ones today, though, I’m not giving up that easily.

Today finds me with another day off, with plans to do some major food shopping and also to prepare some dishes for tomorrow night when I’m expecting guests. It’s “the usual suspects” that will be coming for dinner; they gave me a new pasta machine for my birthday earlier this year, so I invited them for an Italian dinner and am really looking forward to that.

I remember having them over last year around the same time, and at some point we were all sitting at the table fanning ourselves with paper plates because it was unusually hot; guess it’ll be the same this time as the heat wave is still ongoing.

Sunday will be lunch at a restaurant, an invitation from my Godmother celebrating her 77th birthday.

I’m sure I’ll find time somewhere inbetween the chores and the fun stuff to just hang out on the balcony for a bit with a cup of coffee.

I hope you all have great plans for the weekend as well, be it celebrating or just enjoying your time off!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

Feel free to leave a comment!

