Nature

Friday Flowers

Bi-Coloured Dahlia

A late Friday flower post today, and I only quickly took the pic this morning before work. When I left for my vacation, I didn’t really think there’d be much plant life left on my return, but my sister diligently watered all my balcony plants. What surprised me even more was that the speckled dahlia I posted last month had this bi-coloured bloom, which I’ve never seen before on this particular plant.

I’m still incredibly jet lagged (does getting older make it worse??) and have had trouble sleeping all week, which in turn made me get up too late. I assume all will be well after this weekend for which I have no particular plans besides maybe going to the city market and the camera shop – if I manage to get up before noon…

After posting this I’ll quickly clean the kitchen and then I’ll start making lasagne. I’ve been eating healthily since my return, but last night I had a craving for comfort food, very likely caused by the weather. Speaking of which – I had expected red and golden foliage in New England but there was hardly any. Fortunately we are blessed with beautiful autumn colours here, so I’ll definitely be taking the camera for a walk or drive. Anyway, I’ve invited my sister for dinner tonight so hopefully I won’t be tempted to empty the huge lasagne dish by myself.

Happy Friday!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Beautiful dahlia! I love when they bloom in unexpected colors or patterns. You are right on the New England foliage!! SO slow to start so that means once it’s here it will be gone quickly. We look forward to fall so much and some years are wonderful while others are…meh. We will get a few gorgeous days though!

    • Thank you! Last week there was mostly rain to be had in the Boston area, I was lucky to have 2 rainless but cloudy and two great sunny days. Our beautiful colours here made it easier to accept being back 🙂

  2. Ines says:

    Beautiful shot 🙂
    I just came across your blog – will be following along!
    I hope you’ll recover from jet leg soon, see you around the blogosphere.

Feel free to leave a comment!

