Life

A Nomination…

…for the Liebster Award and things you probably never needed to know about me πŸ˜€ .

I don’t normally participate in Award activities, but when I got a nomination notification from Ines’ of IMonnetPhoto, I looked at her post and liked her answers to the questions posed to her when she was nominated as well as the photos she added and the questions she in turn posed to her nominees.

As I said, I don’t usually do awards, but I read/look at tons of blogs that I all like, so I won’t nominate anyone in particular. If I follow you, I like your work, and if you don’t see me as a follower in your Reader that’s probably because I subscribe to a lot of blogs via RSS or actively go there.

So thank you very much for the nomination, Ines, and here are the answers to your questions.

❔ How/Why did you become interested in photography?

I became interested in photography through food blogging. I’d never been interested before, but I knew having a food blog without pictures would be a no-go. While supplying pictures to go with the recipes was a necessary evil in the beginning, I quickly caught the photography bug.

2014 November in pics 12

❔ What’s the first photo you published on your blog?

My first post on this photo blog was for a series on trees. Looking back at it is a real GAAAAAAH! WHY!? moment…

Trees 01

The first picture on my food blog, which I started before this photo blog, was a picture of my dinner table when I had guests. (Luckily…) I can’t even find the original.

❔ Do you photograph mostlyΒ to document moments or to be creative?

I’d say to document little details of daily life.

2014 Feb in pics 27

❔ What’s your favorite time of the day to take photos?

9 – 11 am and 2 – 4 pm

Apple Tree Branch

❔ Where do you get inspiration to photograph?

It’s mostly food photography that inspires me – and I get that from the incredible number of food blogs on the internet.
As for other types of photography, I admire it more than it inspires me as it’s usually not the kind of photography I want to or can do.

Inspired

❔ If you could spend a day with a famous photographer who would it be?

I have to honestly say that right off the top of my head I can’t even name any famous photographers. I’ve never had a famous photography role model.
Having said that, I’d probably like to spend a day with a good food photographer and food/prop stylist.

Empty Plate + Props

❔ What is your favorite camera to shoot with?

My current Nikon D300. I love the thing and dread the day when I need to replace it. Fingers crossed that won’t happen anytime soon!

❔ What was your last purchase photography related?

Funnily it’s almost the same item Ines bought – a BlackRapid RS7 Strap.

❔ Do you have a camera bag?

Yes, I do. I used a small Crumpler bag for a few years (because it fit all my requirements and was available in green πŸ™‚ ); I upgraded last year to a larger Crumpler model (in red) because I take more lenses with me now when I go out.

❔ What photography book would you recommend?

I have only ever read one photography book – HΓ©lΓ¨ne Dujardin’s Plate To Pixel (which is no longer in print). For me it was mostly a confirmation that I was doing things right, but it’s definitely recommendable if you’re a beginner in food photography.

2014-01-02 Goals

❔ Do you print your photos?

Since I bought a little postcard printer in 2013, I’ve printed quite a lot. Sometimes I just print a current favourite to stick it on my fridge door, I also printed pics of my first big vacation in years, and I’ve printed 2 postcard booklets for friends.

 

Rereading this post just before publishing it, I was a bit astonished to realise that in my answers food photography is the thing that comes up most. I guess it’s still my passion…

This was actually fun to do, so thank you very much again, Ines!

If you haven’t made the acquaintance of Ines yet, go check out her blog IMonnetPhoto!

 

Standard

9 thoughts on “A Nomination…

  1. Ines says:

    Thank you for participating, I enjoyed getting to know a bit more about your photography journey πŸ™‚

    I have plans to do a little cook book with my own recipes so I can archive them all in one place, I want to take photos for each recipe but I have no knowledge about food photography – I will definitely check out that book!

    • Thanks, Ines, I enjoyed doing it!

      I hope you’ll have fun doing your cookbook and dabbling in food photography! I’m currently trying to figure out how to collect my own digital recipes in a book, because I don’t want to go online every time I want to revisit a recipe…
      Do you have a concrete plan how to do yours? I’d be interested in ideas!

    • πŸ™‚ Thanks, Kerry! On my other blogs I’ve officially stated that I don’t participate, but as soon as I saw Ines’ post I got interested. I always feel bad when I don’t fully participate by not passing on the awards but I read too many blogs to be able to make a choice.
      Funnily, I learned something about myself on rereading my answers, it got me thinking… and who knows what will be the outcome of that! πŸ˜€

  2. I was rather surprised to see an awards blog on your website! So this ends an award free period πŸ˜‰

    It seems that you have come a long way, judging on the first picture of the trees (don’t say “ARGH”, say “YEAH, I HAVE IMPROVED!”. I love your photography, although I have to admit I never tried one of your recipes. Guess cooking is more a burden than a hobby to me (but eating is a passion of mine haha πŸ™‚ ).

    So you have got the BR strap. I was looking into buying one too, but the idea that my camera’s tripod mount is being used for something else than intended scares me. Maybe one day I’ll get over that fear πŸ˜‰

    Happy Sunday!

    Warm regards,
    Tieme

    • No, no, no – staying award free πŸ˜‰ I really liked Ines’ post very much, and I thought her questions were interesting, so I halfway participated by answering the questions, but I really don’t want to go further by doing the passing-on and asking other people new questions.

      Thank you, even I as my own worst critic see that I have improved (yay, and it’s another improvement to be able to see and admit it, haha!). No worries about the recipes – just enjoy the pics, that’s what I do, too!

      I love the BR strap already, and I thought in the beginning that it would be a pain in the butt having to unscrew it every time I want to use the tripod plate. However, as I only use the strap outdoors and my photography is mostly indoors, it’s not that much work πŸ™‚ .

      Thanks again for your comments, Tieme, not only has my photography developed over time, but also the interaction; I always appreciate your comments as well as the impulses you give with them, you’ve made me think a lot these past couple of years, and only in a good way πŸ˜€ .

      • Thank you for those last words Kiki, that is a great compliment! πŸ™‚ It works vice versa too! You (and others) have helped me a lot. And so do your pictures. They inspired me to write about whether men and women take different photos, I love your “a month in pictures” blogs, and the how you see the world shared via your photos!

        Haha, but don’t worry, I won’t spam you with “awards”. It takes a lot of time to do them! But it is a fun experience!

        Yeah, Moussaka is ready!

        Best!
        Tieme

Feel free to leave a comment!

