Nature

Friday Flowers

FF - tulips + ranuncs

Good afternoon! After last week’s post where I mentioned a cold lurking, all I managed to do that weekend was to go the market on Friday and get these flowers. They were a highlight all through this past week – the only highlight, because that cold hit on Sunday afternoon.

I’ve been on sick leave all week, with strict instructions from the doc to sleep a lot (which I couldn’t during the day, sadly), drink a lot (water & tea), inhale (with chamomile tea, which helped), and go for short walks if the weather allows. Luckily this is just a head cold, nothing like the flu I had this time last year, and I was able to take that walk yesterday in the sunshine.

Nothing really to complain about, luckily; if you don’t have headaches with your cold it’s so much more bearable. So I’m on the mend now, with no plans for this weekend except to chill a little more and get rid of that last bit of stubbornly blocked nose, enjoy some proper tea instead of peppermint, and read.

Happy Friday!

Standard

6 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Beautiful shot! Today I named my post “Flower Friday” and couldn’t stop thinking the title reminded me of something… I even googled it to see if it was a popular challenge on WordPress! Now I know πŸ˜€ It was because of your “Friday Flowers” series!
    I hope you will be able to rest a bit more this weekend and feel 100% good next week πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Ines! Haha – Friday Flowrs is a challenge sometimes for me, like when I can’t be bothered to go buy flowers and then have nothing acceptable in my archives πŸ˜€
      Just had a look at your greenhouse flowers, they’re lovely!
      And thank you re: feeling better – I’m getting there and know I will be able to enjoy this weekend more than the last.
      Have a great weekend yourself!

  2. Ai, a cold, bummer! Hope you feel better already!

    Nice picture, I like the background. Do you play with the levels of your photos a lot during post processing? It’s a technique I’ve been using lately to get a same effect as in your photo (the black is not total black but greyish).

    Take care!

    Tieme

    • Thanks, yes, I do indeed feel better. I said to a friend this was the most pleasant cold I’ve ever had (if you can call it that) because it was really just a head cold with not too much headache.
      The background in this picture is actually quite a bright green, a bit like grass; the preset I was using made it the way you see it, and I quite liked that. At the moment I have about 10 favourite presets that I’ve either downloaded or created myself. I’ve never touched the levels in Lightroom, that’s a step too far for me with regards to needing to learn about it, then apply it properly. I usually use presets and then modify them.

      • Good to read you feel better! So a lot of lazy hours on the couch, with some tea? What presets are you using mostly? I almost never do, but it can help reduce processing time πŸ˜‰

        Cheers,
        Tieme

      • Couch, tea, tissues and books πŸ™‚ Actually, for me using presets at the moment takes MORE time… I tend to try out all my faves on every picture (have to try not to do that).
        If you’re interested, I can e-mail you my list, or the presets; I’m not sure I have all the links where I downloaded them.

Feel free to leave a comment!

