Nature

Friday Flowers

No-Splash - Pink Cosmea Rear View

Good morning & happy Friday! Are you looking forward to the weekend as much as I am? This week we’ve had a bit of rain and lower temperatures, but we’ve been promised a very warm weekend.

Plans? Last weekend I bought redcurrants to make a typical Swabian redcurrant cake, but then got up on Sunday morning and thought: No. Too much work. So I’m hoping to get the cake done this Saturday, then we’ll be celebrating my godmother’s birthday on Sunday. In between all that I’m hoping to get in some photography.

Speaking of which, if you’ve been around here for a while, you’ll have seen a lot of cosmea flower pictures. The previous years I grew my own but sadly that failed this year, so I bought two plants. I’ve taken a real shine to cosmea flowers and probably have a ton of pictures already, but every year I’m fascinated anew, and when I look at them I tend to jump off my deck chair to grab the camera.

I don’t think I’ve ever photographed this back view, though, and am quite taken with this shot. I’m so glad I bought a new 60mm macro lens, it makes it so easy to use higher f/stops handheld compared to my 50mm lens. I’ve become quite trigger-happy with this lens again, so I’m sure you’ll be seeing even more cosmea flowers while they’re in bloom.

Have a great weekend!

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Friday Flowers

  1. Interesting choice to photographe the flower from that perspective and I like the composition too. 🙂
    They also promised a warm weekend around here, maybe this time I will switch the lake for the mountains. Have a great one as well!

Feel free to leave a comment!

