Challenge

Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

wpc-nostalgia-bw

Last week one of my best friends from school called saying she felt really nostalgic and had had a long think about our friendship, and we got talking for a while. Then next day the WP photo challenge subject said nostalgia. But how to translate what we talked about into a picture? I couldn’t.

Then this morning – when the grumpiness I mentioned earlier today in my Friday Flowers post had passed! – I had a good laugh and found a photo subject. A really simple one, but it fits nostalgia to a T. I’m one of very few people who, when issued with a new work laptop, insists on not needing a new keyboard. I’m using an old one, which has the perfect height and has old-fashioned high keys.

My current old-fashioned keyboard seems to be giving up the ghost, so I asked my friend in IT what the chances were they had another one lying around somewhere. They did, quite a few, too. Still in their original packaging, apparently more than a decade old. I was really happy when I heard that, but another IT guy said with big eyes: But these old ones make these clicking sounds! And I said: YES! That’s what I want! I’m happy about the clicking sounds!

So I was quite nostalgic about these old keyboards that I find so much nicer and easier to use, and it made me realise that although I do love technology, I’m still prone to nostalgia about some of the old stuff.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

  1. Still going strong Kiki! I have had soooo little time to blog, and my energy is still low, but trying to get back on track. And now my girlfriend and I bought a house, so for the next month blogging won’t be my highest priority, but renovating the house will be.. My last project will be rebuilding the attic to a photo studio πŸ™‚

    How are you doing?

    Oh my, the clicking of those old keyboards.. The IT-guy was right, must be a joy for your colleagues that “clicking sound”. πŸ˜‰ As for technology, I want the new stuff, as for nostalgia: I miss my life as a student!

    Cheers and happy Sunday!
    Tieme

    • Thank you, Tieme! It’s good to see you back – I thought you’d given up on blogging πŸ˜‰ Guess with having a house you need to shift your priorities if you have to do work on it. Having a photo studio in the attic sounds fantastic, I’m envious!!

      As for other people being distracted – I think with being on the phone (and very loud) they don’t really notice it πŸ™‚

      Have a good weekend!

      • Hi Kiki!

        I haven’t given up, but have to admit that keeping it going on a regular basis is hard at times.

        Yeah, I am stoked! Haven’t slept for days because in my mind I am plastering and painting walls and rearrange rooms πŸ™‚

        Ah, loud colleagues and open offices, love it πŸ˜‰

        Happy weekend!
        Tieme

Feel free to leave a comment!

